Churchill Downs’ 11-day September meet starts

Churchill Downs has officially begun its shortest meet of the year, but don’t think that means there aren’t some big prizes to be had.

According to a news release from Churchill Downs, the track’s 11-day meet will feature huge increases in total purses, payouts for bettors and even the average horse-per-race field.

Churchill Downs
Churchill Downs kicks off an abbreviated September meet on Friday, Sept. 13. (Source: Churchill Downs)

The daily average prize money paid to horsemen reached a record of $463,000 last year. This year? That figure is expected to average $756,000 per day.

“The average purse offered this year in Vice President of Racing Ben Huffman’s 109-race September Meet condition book is a whopping $76,275, thanks to robust business from state-of-the-art historical racing machines that debuted one year ago at nearby Derby City Gaming,” the release from Churchill Downs stated.

When the short September meet first launched at Churchill in 2013, the average purse per race was only $36,690.

Details for the full meet are below:

+ Fri Sept 13: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Sat Sept 14: 11 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Sun Sept 15: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Thu Sept 19 (Twilight Thursday): 8 races, first post at 5 p.m.

+ Fri Sept 20: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Sat Sept 21: 11 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Sun Sept 22: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Thu Sept 26 (Twilight Thursday): 8 races, first post at 5 p.m.

+ Fri Sept 27: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

+ Sat Sept 28 (Downs After Dark): 11 races, first post at 6 p.m.

+ Sun Sept 29: 10 races, first post at 12:45 p.m.

Churchill’s full fall meet begins Oct. 30 and runs through Nov. 25.

Download the Derby City Weekend App: Apple // Android

FOLLOW @DerbyCityWknd on social media: Facebook // Instagram // Twitter